

Meeting Minutes - Final

Joint MTC Planning Committee with the ABAG Administrative Committee

James P. Spering, MTC Chair Eddie Ahn, MTC Vice Chair

Friday, January 12, 2024	9:40 AM	Board Room - 1st Floor

Roster

Eddie Ahn (Vice Chair), David Canepa, Carol Dutra-Vernaci, Dorene M. Giacopini*, Matt Mahan, Stephanie Moulton-Peters, Sue Noack, David Rabbitt, and James P. Spering (Chair) *Non-Voting Member

1. Call to Order

Non-Voting Member Present: Dorene M. Giacopini, MTC Ex Officio Voting Members Present: Commission Chair Pedroza and Commission Vice Chair Josefowitz Ad Hoc Non-Voting Member Present: Commissioner Papan

ABAG Administrative Committee Members Present: Arreguin, Eklund, Ramos, Romero, and Silva.

The following individuals participated from unnoticed remote locations. Their participation did not count toward the quorum, and they did not vote on any items: MTC Commissioner Ahn.

2. MTC Planning Committee Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

- Present: 6 Chair Spering, Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Moulton-Peters and Commissioner Noack
- Absent: 2 Vice Chair Ahn and Commissioner Rabbitt

3. MTC Planning Committee Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci and second by Commissioner Noack, the MTC Planning Committee Consent Calendar was unanimously approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 6 Chair Spering, Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Moulton-Peters and Commissioner Noack
- Absent: 2 Vice Chair Ahn and Commissioner Rabbitt
- **3a.** <u>23-1475</u> Approval of MTC Planning Committee Minutes of the December 8, 2023 Meeting

Action: MTC Planning Committee Approval

Attachments: <u>3a_23-1475_2023-12-08_Joint_MTC_Planning_Committee_with_the_A</u> <u>BAG_Administrative_Committee_Meeting_Minutes_Draft.pdf</u>

4. ABAG Administrative Committee Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

5. ABAG Compensation Announcement – Clerk of the Board

6. ABAG Administrative Committee Consent Calendar

 6a.
 23-1476
 Approval of ABAG Administrative Committee Summary Minutes of the December 8, 2023 Meeting

 Action:
 ABAG Administrative Committee Approval

Attachments: 6a_23-1476 AC Minutes 20231208 Jt MTC PC Draft.pdf

7. Approval

7a.24-0061Transportation Electrification Initiatives: 2023 Transit Station Public
Charging Grant Award Recommendations (\$10,000,000)

Approval of \$10 million in grants to support the deployment of electric vehicle charging infrastructure at Bay Area transit stations as part of MTC's Climate Program transportation electrification investments to advance Plan Bay Area 2050.

- Action: MTC Commission Approval
- Presenter: James Choe
- <u>Attachments:</u> 6h 24-0061 Summary Sheet Transit-Station-Charging-Grant-Awards DRAFTv5.pdf

Lauren Gularte, San Francisco Bay Area Water Emergency Transportation Authority, spoke on this item.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Noack and second by Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, the Transportation Electrification Initiatives: 2023 Transit Station Public Charging Grant Award Recommendations (\$10,000,000) were unanimously approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 6 Chair Spering, Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Moulton-Peters and Commissioner Noack
- Absent: 2 Vice Chair Ahn and Commissioner Rabbitt

7b.	<u>23-1490</u>	Plan Bay Area 2050+: Draft Blueprint Strategies & Geographies
		Update on the Plan Bay Area 2050+ Draft Blueprint, including strategies and growth geographies, as well as next steps for the long-range regional plan in 2024.
	<u>Action:</u>	ABAG Committee Approval MTC Committee Approval
	Presenter:	Chirag Rabari
	<u>Attachments:</u>	7bi 23-1490 PBA50+ Summary Sheet Draft Blueprint Strategies and Geographies v7.pdf7bii 23-1490 PBA50+ Attachment A Draft Blueprint Strategies and Geographies v10.pdf7biii 23-1490 PBA50+ Attachment B Draft Blueprint Strategy Refinements v5.pdf7biv 23-1490 PBA50+ Attachment C Draft Blueprint Growth Geographies v5.pdf

Adina Levin, Seamless Bay Area, spoke on this item.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Moulton-Peters and second by Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, the Plan Bay Area 2050+: Draft Blueprint Strategies & Geographies were unanimously approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Chair Spering, Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Moulton-Peters and Commissioner Noack

Absent: 2 - Vice Chair Ahn and Commissioner Rabbitt

8. Public Comment / Other Business

Steve Birdlebough, Transportation and Land Use Coalition of Sonoma County, was called to speak.

9. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Joint MTC Planning Committee with the ABAG Administrative Committee will be held on Friday, February 9, 2024 at 9:40 a.m. at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA. Any changes to the schedule will be duly noticed to the public.