

Meeting Minutes - Final

375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California 94105

ABAG Regional Planning Committee

Chair, Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa Vice Chair, Carlos Romero, Urban Ecology

Wednesday, February 5, 2020

1:00 PM

Yerba Buena - 1st Floor

Association of Bay Area Governments Regional Planning Committee Special Meeting

The ABAG Regional Planning Committee may act on any item on the agenda.

The meeting is scheduled to begin at 1:00 p.m.

Agenda, roster, and webcast available at https://abag.ca.gov

For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

Roster

Susan Adams, Jesse Arreguin, Marilyn Ezzy Ashcraft, Rick Bonilla, Mark Boucher, Monica Brown, Paul Campos, David Canepa, Kathleen Cha, Cindy Chavez, Amber Crabbe, Diane Dillon, Pat Eklund, Neysa Fligor, Scott Haggerty, Russell Hancock, Melissa Jones, Rafael Mandelman, Nathan Miley, Karen Mitchoff, Julie Pierce, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, Matt Regan, Katie Rice, Carlos Romero, Mark Ross, Al Savay, Gregory Scharff, Scott Sedgley, James Spering, Sonja Trauss, Lori Wilson, Monica Wilson

1. Call to Order / Pledge of Allegiance / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Chair Mitchoff called the meeting to order at about 1:02 p.m. Quorum was present. The agenda was taken as follows: Item 6, Item 2, Item 4, Item 3, Item 5, Item 7, Item 8.

- **Present:** 19 Ashcraft, Bonilla, Brown, Cha, Chavez, Crabbe, Eklund, Haggerty, Hancock, Miley, Mitchoff, Pierce, Regan, Rice, Romero, Ross, Savay, Spering, and Trauss
- **Absent:** 15 Adams, Arreguin, Boucher, Campos, Canepa, Dillon, Fligor, Jones, Mandelman, Rabbitt, Ramos, Scharff, Sedgley, Wilson L, and Wilson M
- **Present:** 19 Ashcraft, Bonilla, Brown, Cha, Chavez, Crabbe, Eklund, Haggerty, Hancock, Miley, Mitchoff, Pierce, Regan, Rice, Romero, Ross, Savay, Spering, and Trauss
- **Absent:** 15 Adams, Arreguin, Boucher, Campos, Canepa, Dillon, Fligor, Jones, Mandelman, Rabbitt, Ramos, Scharff, Sedgley, Wilson L, and Wilson M

2. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

3. Election of Regional Planning Committee Chair and Vice Chair

3.a. 20-0241 Election of Regional Planning Committee Chair and Vice Chair

Upon the motion by Savay and second by Bonilla, the nomination of MItchoff as Chair and Romero as Vice Chair of the ABAG Regional Planning Committee was approved. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

- **Aye:** 20 Ashcraft, Bonilla, Brown, Cha, Chavez, Crabbe, Eklund, Fligor, Haggerty, Hancock, Miley, Mitchoff, Pierce, Regan, Rice, Romero, Ross, Savay, Spering, and Trauss
- **Absent:** 14 Adams, Arreguin, Boucher, Campos, Canepa, Dillon, Jones, Mandelman, Rabbitt, Ramos, Scharff, Sedgley, Wilson L, and Wilson M
 - **Aye:** 20 Ashcraft, Bonilla, Brown, Cha, Chavez, Crabbe, Eklund, Fligor, Haggerty, Hancock, Miley, Mitchoff, Pierce, Regan, Rice, Romero, Ross, Savay, Spering, and Trauss
- **Absent:** 14 Adams, Arreguin, Boucher, Campos, Canepa, Dillon, Jones, Mandelman, Rabbitt, Ramos, Scharff, Sedgley, Wilson L, and Wilson M

4. Chair's Report

There was no Chair's Report.

5. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Pierce and second by Romero, the Consent Calendar was approved. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

- **Aye:** 20 Ashcraft, Bonilla, Brown, Cha, Chavez, Crabbe, Eklund, Fligor, Haggerty, Hancock, Miley, Mitchoff, Pierce, Regan, Rice, Romero, Ross, Savay, Spering, and Trauss
- **Absent:** 14 Adams, Arreguin, Boucher, Campos, Canepa, Dillon, Jones, Mandelman, Rabbitt, Ramos, Scharff, Sedgley, Wilson L, and Wilson M
 - **Aye:** 20 Ashcraft, Bonilla, Brown, Cha, Chavez, Crabbe, Eklund, Fligor, Haggerty, Hancock, Miley, Mitchoff, Pierce, Regan, Rice, Romero, Ross, Savay, Spering, and Trauss
- **Absent:** 14 Adams, Arreguin, Boucher, Campos, Canepa, Dillon, Jones, Mandelman, Rabbitt, Ramos, Scharff, Sedgley, Wilson L, and Wilson M

5.a. 20-0214 Approval of ABAG Regional Planning Committee Minutes of December 4, 2019

6. Regional Housing Needs Allocation

Neysa Fligor joined the meeting.

6.a. <u>20-0211</u>

Regional Housing Need Allocation: Housing Methodology Committee Update and Overview of New Rules for Identifying Housing Element Sites

Staff will provide an update from the Housing Methodology Committee on the Regional Housing Need Allocation process to date and will provide an overview of new requirements for identifying sites for housing in the Housing Element.

Gillian Adams gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Rodney Nickens.

7. Plan Bay Area 2050

7.a. 20-0212

Update on Plan Bay Area 2050: Draft Blueprint - Housing and Economy Elements

Staff will provide an update on the proposed geographies and strategies for the Plan Bay Area 2050 Draft Blueprint, focused on the Housing and Economy elements of the Plan. Staff will present on material shared with the ABAG Executive Board in late January at the joint ABAG/MTC workshop, highlighting feedback received.

Matt Maloney and Dave Vautin gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Ken Bukowski.

8. Adjournment / Next Meeting

Chair Mitchoff adjourned the meeting at about 3:00 p.m. The next regular meeting of the ABAG Regional Planning Committee is on March 4, 2020.