The Counties

The Counties

Stretching from the Wine Country in the north to Silicon Valley in the south, from the shores of the Pacific to the edge of the Central Valley, our region houses more than 7 million people in nine counties and 101 cities.


A satellite view of the Bay Area
A satellite view of the San Francisco Bay Area.

Our Bay Area

The nine counties that touch San Francisco Bay are:

  • Alameda
  • Contra Costa
  • Marin
  • Napa
  • San Francisco
  • San Mateo
  • Santa Clara
  • Solano
  • Sonoma

These nine counties include 101 cities, 7.4 million inhabitants and approximately 7,000 square miles of land.

Our region is home to three major cities, San Francisco, San Jose and Oakland.

The Bay Area includes Silicon Valley, a leading hub for high-tech innovation and development, and a big factor in predicting future Bay Area growth.